UMaine Today magazine, published twice a year by the University of Maine Division of Marketing and Communications, showcases creativity and achievement at the University of Maine. The goal of the general-interest magazine is to demonstrate the university’s value and contributions to the state, and to advance institutional goals. The first issue appeared October/November 2001. UMaine Today writers and editors are members of the University Research Magazine Association and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.


UMaine Leadership

Susan J. Hunter, President
Karlton Creech, Director of Athletics
Robert Dana, Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students
Jeffrey Hecker, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Joseph Lee, Interim Vice President for Enrollment Management
James Settele, Chief of Staff
Kody Varahramyan, Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School
Jake Ward, Vice President for Innovation and Economic Development

UMaine Research Centers

Advanced Manufacturing Center
Advanced Structures and Composites Center
Aquaculture Research Institute
Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies
Center for Research on Sustainable Forests
Center for Undergraduate Research
Center on Aging
Climate Change Institute
Forest Bioproducts Research Institute
Innovative Media Research and Commercialization Center
Laboratory for Surface Science and Technology
Maine Center for Research in STEM Education
Maine Sea Grant
Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center
National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis
Senator George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions


Printing and distribution of UMaine Today are underwritten by the University of Maine Foundation.

The University of Maine does not discriminate on the grounds of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, including transgender status and gender expression, national origin, citizenship status, age, disability, genetic information or veteran status in employment, education, and all other programs and activities. Contact the Director, Equal Opportunity, 5754 North Stevens Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5754 at 207.581.1226 (voice), TTY 711 (Maine Relay System), equal.opportunity@maine.edu with questions or concerns.