Skip Navigation
Chapters and Verse
UMaine’s internationally recognized poetry tradition turns another page
by Kristen Andresen


Editor’s note: This story contains additional information from the previous version.

Poetry at the University of Maine: A timeline

1948 – Carroll Terrell joins English Department

1958 – Fugues for Nerves + Thighbones, a student poetry and art literary magazine, debuts; others follow, including Stolen Island Review, Moth and Onan.

1967 – Burton Hatlen joins English Department. He and Jim Bishop go on to form a writing workshop with faculty and students, including Stephen and Tabitha (Spruce) King.

1971 – Carroll Terrell establishes the National Poetry Foundation. Constance Hunting founds Puckerbrush Press, then joins UMaine faculty in 1978. NPF publishes Paideuma: A Journal Devoted to Ezra Pound Scholarship.

1975 – NPF holds its first conference on Pound. Later NPF conferences, focusing on Modernist and contemporary poetry, attract nationally and internationally known poets and scholars.

1980 – Great Living Poets Institute features Robert Creeley, Stephen Spender, May Sarton, Archibald MacLeish, Basil Bunting and Constance Hunting.

1982 – NPF publishes Sagetrieb: A Journal Devoted to Poets in the Imagist/Objectivist Tradition.

1990 – Burton Hatlen becomes director of the National Poetry Foundation.

1999 – New Writing Series established by Steve Evans.

2008 – Steve Evans, Carla Billitteri, Benjamin Friedlander and Jennifer Moxley form an editorial collective to direct the National Poetry Foundation. They join longtime NPF staff members Gail Sapiel and Betsy Rose.